Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot OR
Suppress Placement Boxes.

FILTER (1995–PRESENT). Richard Patrick (vocals, guitar, programming), various others.

On the heels of Nine Inch Nails’ success in bringing the industrial sound to a more mainstream audience, Filter was formed by former NIN touring band member Richard Patrick, who hooked up with Brian Liesegang after NIN’s first tour and began recording together to create an industrial-influenced brand of rock. They signed with Reprise Records and issued their debut, Short Bus, in 1995. The album was a hit, largely due to the success of the single “Hey Man, Nice Shot,” which deftly combined industrial electronic textures with a moody alternative sound.



While Patrick and Liesegang had largely completed the album on their own, they added musicians Eeno Lenardo (guitar), Frank Cavanaugh (bass), and Matt Walker (drums) to tour in support of the album.

After the tour Liesegang left because of creative differences with Patrick, who continued to helm the band, releasing Title of Record in 1999, which added to the band’s success, going platinum on the strength of the hit/video “Take a Picture.” The Amalgamut followed in 2002, after which Patrick put Filter on hold in order to front a new band called Army of Anyone with Robert and Dean Delillo, formerly of Stone Temple Pilots. Patrick returned in 2008 with a new Filter album, Anthems for the Damned, featuring collaborations with John 5 of Marilyn Manson, guitarist Wes Borland (Limp Bizkit), and drummer Josh Freese (A Perfect Circle, Nine Inch Nails, Guns N’ Roses).

Discography: Short Bus (Reprise, 1995); Title of Record (Warner Bros., 1999); The Amalgamut (Warner Bros., 2002); Anthems for the Damned (Pulse, 2008); Single Collection (Wea International, 2000).